Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

After relocation, I become either not technical or not business enough 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

shkrly

IS-IT--Management
Mar 21, 2001
AU
Hey,

I read some threads and find they are really helpful. hope to have any advice about my situation.

After relocation to OZ, I find my skills set became either not technical enough for technical role or lack of business industry experience for a business role. My skills mostly focus on supporting with SAS technoloies (in SAS institute) and some project management . I've been using the technology for 5 years.

Having such background, I have difficulty in looking for jobs such as business analyst. Any suggestion to gain a start as BA?

shkrly

Hi shkrly,

welcome to OZ :)

I'm not sure I can help on the technical side of things, but have you used the online jobsearch engines for BA positions in Australia ?

I have found them very successful in my field (foxpro work).

Pete Bloomfield
Down Under

Hi repete,

Thanks a lots, I find these jobsearch engines work really good except that my experience is a bit narrow (in a way).

The tool (SAS) I'm good at is famous in data warehousing project, however, my area of experties focus on OLAP teachnology, with little warehouse experience. I had applied for sas programmer but was told I lack of statitic background.

I find many positions similar with my target jobs, but I may not be able to apply the skills I am good at, so it would be a disadvantage at employers' point of views.

However, still worthy to try. It won't hurt.

Thanks a lot.
shkrly