Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advice sought on managing desktops remotely

Status
Not open for further replies.

sakpgu

Technical User
Aug 9, 2005
US
Hello:
--Network newbie here. What is the best way to remotely manage Win2k desktops? The network I inherited uses pcAnywhere v10 for help desk issues, remote administration, etc. VNC looked interesting, but I've never used it. Is it worth switching to VNC or another solution or just to stick with pcAnywhere?
--I'm rather new to IT, so I'd really appreciate any advice before I go and mess up the network.
Thanks,
Patrick

If you have something in place, why bother? Just use it if it works.

Sure, tons of different ways to do it..I use VNC, with XP you can use Remote Desktop, etc. etc.

I'm Certifiable, not cert-ified.
It just means my answers are from experience, not a book.
The poster formerly known as lander215

Hi Davetoo:
--Thanks for the input. Good advice. I have a mix of Win2k & WinXP. I wondered if a single solution (a la VNC) would be better than pcAnywhere & RDP.
--Ironically, the issue came about because the XP users struggle with Remote Assistance, even though I've walked 'em though it & set up a GPO to allow Offer Remote Assistance. Anyway . . . thanks again for the tip.
P.

Radmin is a good remote admin program. It's not free like VNC, but MUCH faster. Also includes telnet and file transfer options.

--Radmin looks v. promising. Now at least I have some options. Thanks for all the tips.
P.

I use TightVNC on over 100 PCs. It's very reliable and easy to use.

At work we use Dameware NT Utilities to manage a network of 500 PC's and 50 servers.
PC's are Windows 2000, XP and 1 or 2 Windows NT4.