Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advice on PBX tech's career path..

Status
Not open for further replies.

breakbuddy

Technical User
Mar 2, 2005
US
I've been an onsite tech for a 2 yr college in central Texas with 3 PBX's to take care of (scattered on average 50 miles apart) with approximately 1800+ users. I handle all of the MAC's, troubleshooting of telephones (from dial tone to jack), and handle our in-house internet connection (making sure that the ports are on, jack trouble, pc settings etc.).

I basically would like some advise from some of the older techs out there on what kind of startegy they can advise me on my career path. I've been a tech here for going on 5 years, and have had no significant raise of pay or title change. My official title is that of an assistant, but I am the only one here that can touch the PBX, they have sent me to training, on average once a year, but I still think that they can offer me more.

Thanks for the advise, if anything thanks for listening to my blow some steam,

-bb.

best bet is to get some schooling on the pbx of your choice, then pass certification test, cisco certification will help. i expect to see more voice over ip then tdm in the next 10 years. with certification in hand be prepared to move and start doing a job search. on todays market this switch is worth 30+ with full bennies, more if you contract. when i contract i charge 65 flat, 110 past 40 hours. not all the money in the world but my kids don't go hungry.

john poole
bellsouth business
columbia,sc

nobody is old out here :)