Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advice on Extreme Networks Summit X450E-24P Switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

nbstl68

MIS
Aug 15, 2016
US
Hi,
I'd say I'm a noob but I know even less, so I'll apologize in advance if anyone feels I may be wasting their time....
I'm here to ask advice on the purchase and use of a Extreme Networks Summit X450E-24P switch
(I can get them apparently under $150 on eBay.)
I have literally never used a network switch before.
I'm looking for a solution to use for my new IP POE cameras.
I'm finding good prices I can afford for this particular 24 port POE switch.

But having absolutely zero experience with switches, no programming experience..of any kind I'd like some advice to know if this is a product that would work well as a solution for my planned home setup...basically about 15 POE cameras going to a NVR computer, an IP phone, DSL modem\wifi router, a couple of computers for internet, My DirecTV and a couple of Android set top boxes and smart TVs.

Is this product something that would be way over my head to figure out and configure strictly from reading an on-line manual and no other experience or would this be a good choice for my needs?

Is this all controlled and configured with a command line interface?>...I'm assuming maybe it does not have an easy GUI web interface as it is not typically a consumer level product.
Even though I'm sure its capabilities are overkill...if it is a good quality product and stable and will work for my needs and I can reasonably figure out how to even use it then that would be great.