Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advice on client/server app, early vs. late binding (SQL Backend) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

storm75m

Programmer
Apr 18, 2001
US
I've been developing Access programs for a few years now, and in all of my forms/subforms/controls, I've always simply created a form that was bound to a recordsource like a table or query, pretty much by using the wizards and modifying the end result. I've created many complex forms with subforms etc. from scratch, but all of the underlying data was always setup at design time.

Well I'm starting a brand new project, this time the database is SQL server, and I would like to acheive the best response time possible. I'm going to have one major form with a multi-tab control with many pages, and several subforms, and combo boxes, etc. (This one form will be the single user interface for about 20 tables) I am a little concerned about how long this form would take to load, if I create the form the same way I have been.