Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advice for my review 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

RhythmAddict112

Programmer
Jun 17, 2004
US
Hi All,
This is my scenario...I've been at my company for just over a year now, and I have a mid-year review on Friday morning. Basically, since it's a "mid-year" we go over what I've done in the first 2 Q's, and some objectives for remainder of the year. I'm a developer, and I really haven't had too many projects that I got to initiate, most of the apps. I've worked on (and now "own", maintain, support, and enhance) were developed by consultants that are no longer with the company. Anyway, long story short, we do mostly ASP (Classic) and I really want to get some new projects and ditch the classic ASP for ASP.Net(we're like years behind the curve, here!) Anyway, my question is...I need a way to communicate that I'm ready for the next level here, and I want to move forward utilizing bigger and better frameworks (.net/java) How can I say this tactfully? I have the feeling if I say something to the affect of "I'm ready for the next step" my supervisor will just look at me and think "Is this kid serious?" (I'm the youngest developer by far on my team of about 15) Any advice or ideas on how to communicate this or help me out in general are much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

All hail the INTERWEB!

Hello RhythmAddict:
My first question would be: Why do you feel that ASP.Net is a better framework for what you are doing?

~Thadeus

Good Question. Well, naturally this would be arguable but the reasons I want to utilize .NET (both in terms of personal interest, and organizational interest...)