Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advanced programming style discussion 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

ESquared

Programmer
Dec 23, 2003
US
Hi!

My name is Erik. I have been programming for 22 years. Admittedly, I was 9 years old when I started and I don't have all that much "professional programming experience" under my belt, but I'm getting there.

Lately I've been repeatedly running into certain similar problems across all the programs I am writing. My hope is that I can start a discussion with some programmers who are more experienced than I, and get a few tips. I don't know where else to go, there is no one here at work I can ask and I don't know anyone who has the experience I am trying to tap in to.

I am not sure how much to put in one question. My hope is that someone can see what I am driving at and help me ask the questions I don't even know how to ask!

With that somewhat incoherent preamble, I'll begin.

How important is it to avoid global variables? I have worked hard not to use them, one because I have read again and again since I started that they are bad, and two because my programming experience has proven this out. Globals can work when you have two or three variables, but when you have 10 or 20 or 100, it's time to do something different. Yet, sometimes in my quest to avoid globals I run into difficulties finding an elegant solution.

For example, VB does not allow a function to return an array. That is, it can return a variant which contains an array, but it cannot return an array of variants (or longs, or strings, or anything else).