Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ads popping up? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dakota81

Technical User
May 15, 2001
US
I'm getting an advertisement that's popping up from time to time and I don't know why it's coming up, and obviously want to get rid of it.

I know about all the ad programs out there, I've used Kazaa and other file sharing programs extensively, never installed anything else that causes ads, etc., but these here are not the cause.

I'm a student at the University of Illinois and the apartment I live in has provided dsl throughout the entire building and goes to the phone company, McCloudUSA.

I don't pay much attention to the ad, so I can't give an exact description. However, it has something to do with universities and diplomas, which makes me think McCloud is exploiting some installed messaging application that's provided with XP, for the purpose of selling advertisement. Can this be done, and if so, how do I uninstall whatever messaging application they're exploiting?

First, delete all temporary internet files (under Tools->Options) and *.TMP files (do a search on the hard drive). Next, go here to download and install ad-aware:

- This app does a free inspection for known spyware that have attached themselves in your browser, registry, and other places. I recommend backing up your registry before running this program just in case. ~cdogg

"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources."
- A. Einstein

The thing is, this ad that has popped up twice in two weeks since I installed xp, suspiciously "knows" that I attend a university. As I see it, there are two possibilities for this: