Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ADOConnection + ConnectString

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen99

Programmer
Aug 5, 2003
ZA
Hi

I'm new to ADO. So please be patient ! :)

I am using Delphi 7 and Oracle 8.1.6.

I used BDE TDatabase and connect during runtime. I get the username and password and dbname from the registry, and use that to connect.

Now I also want to connect with ADO during runtime. Wel, I am doing it, my connectstring looks like this :

Provider=MSDAORA.1;Password=grmssys;User ID=grmssys;Data Source=grms.world;Persist Security Info=True

And it word fine. Problem is that it does not work on another pc. I am using Windows 2000 and the other pc is using XP. Coult that make a difference or must I look at something else ?

My code :

GRMSConnection.ConnectionString := ADODBInfo;

DatabaseMain.Params.Assign(ParamList);
try
SessionMain.Open;
DatabaseMain.Open;
GRMSConnection.open;
Result := True;
except
end;

GRMSConnection is the adoconnection;
DatabaseMain is the bde connection;
ADODBInfo is the connectstring.

Regards
Karen

2 questions :

- what error are you having. (the exact description)
- does the datasource "grms.world" exist on the xp pc??

--------------------------------------
What You See Is What You Get

Don't have the error with me, but it comes down to that it can not connect to oracle.

Yes the grms.world exist on the xp pc. The TDatabase connect just fine and it is also using grms.world.

Can the type of provider change from pc to pc ?

Hi.
I haven't connected to a Oracle database before, but with all other connections, the Datasource parameter has to be added on the local Oracle installation.