Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Adobe Reader v7 and pdf.ocx 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

carlgomerski

Programmer
Jan 20, 2001
AU
Hi, I'm a developer working on a VB6 application, it installs Adobe Reader v4 and uses the pdf.ocx to display pdf files. As users have upgraded to V5/V6 they have still been able to display pdf's using the pdf.ocx.

Now v7 is out we're getting an (app generated) error: '372 Failed to load control 'Pdf' from pdf.ocx. Your version of pdf.ocx may be outdated. Make sure you are using the version of the control that was provided with your application.'

Had a quick look at the Adobe website/support forums and didn't find any solutions (though developers are having dramas with v7). I think pdf.ocx is not included with v7, not sure it's been replaced by anything?

Has anyone here had problems pdf.ocx in Adobe Reader v7?

I'm having the same issue. You can get version 7 to work by adding the reference to the adobe control. The problem is that this makes it incompatable with people using version 4, 5 or 6.

I think (not 100% sure) there is a replacement ocx in Adobe Acrobat's SDK. Our company doesn't have a subscription to download it though.

We're thinking about purchasing a third party PDF viewer control. Hopefully this might solve some of the problems we have each time Adobe release a new version. We've advised our users to stay away from Adobe v7 for now.

I'd assume so. Again I couldn't 100% confirm that the SDK includes a PDF.ocx. I couldn't find any offical doco, it's just what I read in other forums.