Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Adobe Form Field Question 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhein

Programmer
Feb 17, 2003
CA
I have a client that wants to be able to access the data fields on a PDF form. They want to be able to add info to a form or select info from a form field...does anyone know how to go about this? I am new to the world of Adobe, so please be kind!

You will need the full version of Acrobat to add the form fields in so that they can be used for adding info.

Tony Perkins

What is your environment? Are you hosting the forms on a web server?

If you design the form in Acrobat, and host it on a web server, your client can access the form, fill it in, and post the data back to your web server.

You can then do anything you want to with the data.

Thomas D. Greer

Hi TGreer,
Can you give a more detailed approach to this because I am trying desparately to do the same thing but with no luck.
-Chrissy

Chrissy,

Sure. You just... do it! What step in the process is causing you trouble?

Really, it's as simple as

1) Creating a PDF Form with Acrobat. You create all the fields you want with the Form Tool.

2) Put at least on Button on the Form. In the properties for the button, select the "Actions" tag. Set the trigger to "Mouse Up". Set the action to "Submit a Form". In the Actions section, select "Submit a Form" and then click "Edit".

3) Enter the URL of the web page that will process the form results. This can be an ASP page for example that iterates through the Request object.