Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ADO xml transforming using XSL

Status
Not open for further replies.

chigley

Programmer
Sep 30, 2002
GB
I am new to XML. I have created an XML file from an ADO recordset, and an XSL file to transform it, and am using vbscript to use the MSXMLDOM object to do the transforming. I have two templates in the XSL file match="/" and match="z:row". The root template produces the header output fine, but hte z:row match does nothing.

I have been reading solidly for 3 days now, and cannot see what I am doing wrong. I have also found example code on the web, that strongly resembles what I am trying to do. Can someone give me an example of an XSL file that transforms all z:rows of an ADO generated XML file to HTML text fields, setting the value of the text field to the value of the z:row first field?

Thanks in advance

Charlie

Post your XML and XSL. Most likely this is a namespace issue.

Jon

"I don't regret this, but I both rue and lament it.

Thanks Jon,

The XML excerpt >>>

<xml xmlns:s='uuid:BDC6E3F0-6DA3-11d1-A2A3-00AA00C14882'
xmlns:dt='uuid:C2F41010-65B3-11d1-A29F-00AA00C14882'
xmlns:rs='urn:schemas-microsoft-com:rowset'
xmlns:z='#RowsetSchema'>
<s:Schema id='RowsetSchema'>
<s:ElementType name='row' content='eltOnly' rs:CommandTimeout='30'>
<s:AttributeType name='PurchaseID' rs:number='1' rs:nullable='true' rs:writeunknown='true'>
<s:datatype dt:type='int' dt:maxLength='4' rs:precision='10' rs:fixedlength='true'/>
</s:AttributeType>
<s:AttributeType name='OrgID' rs:number='2' rs:nullable='true' rs:writeunknown='true'>
<s:datatype dt:type='int' dt:maxLength='4' rs:precision='10' rs:fixedlength='true'/>