Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Adding default sorting arrows to GridView

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cineno

Programmer
Jul 24, 2006
US
Hello, I'm new to CSS and ASP.net and I've been trying to figure out how I can use CSS to show sorting arrows on the headers of my GridView control.

I've been able to get them to show on a sorted column, but I'd like them to show before the user sorts so that the user knows that they're sortable.

Here's what I have so far:

Set these GridView properties:

SortedAscendingHeaderStyle-CssClass="sortasc"
SortedDescendingHeaderStyle-CssClass="sortdesc"

And my css has this:

th.sortasc a
{
display:block; padding:0 4px 0 15px;
background:url("images/icons/ascArrow.png") no-repeat;
}

th.sortdesc a
{
display:block; padding:0 4px 0 15px;
background:url("images/icons/descArrow.png") no-repeat;
}

This works great to show an image after the user clicks a header and the column sorts.

But how can I have all columns show a sorting image before the sort, and then after the sort, have the sorted column show a different image?

Thanks for any help!

forum855 or forum216 are where you should be asking HTML has no scripting functions.

Chris.

Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Time flies like an arrow, however, fruit flies like a banana.
Webmaster Forum

I asked at the ASP.net board. I was directed over here.

Thanks for the response though, I'll keep trying.

This is a display(CSS) issue, not scripting, that is why the OP was directed here.

This is a display(CSS) issue, not scripting, that is why the OP was directed here.