Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Adding an if statement 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

evr72

MIS
Dec 8, 2009
US
Hello,

I inherited a web form and I am trying to make some changes. I am fairly new to programming and thus to JavaScript, I have been trying to modify a script that opens outlook and fills out the recipient, subject and email body. the idea is that the user revises the email before ending.

What I would like to add is an if statement so send to specific users if a specific field is picked

Here is what I have tried so far

original code
Code:
<script type=text/javascript>

function openoutlook()
{
  var S=document.form.company.value;
  var B=document.form.email.value;
  var M=document.form.csupdatedby.value;
  var A= <% = Cdbl((rsGuestbook("ID")))%>
  var url = '[URL unfurl="true"]http://mydomain.com/xx/view.asp?id='[/URL] + escape(A);

self.location="mailto:mycustomlist@mydomain.com?subject=An New Entry Has Been Made To xx Form  "+A+" by "+M+" &body= Here is the link to the updated project  "+url;
}
</script>

Modified code

Code:
<script type=text/javascript>

function openoutlook()
{
  var S=document.form.company.value;
  var B=document.form.email.value;
  var M=document.form.csupdatedby.value;
  var A= <% = Cdbl((rsGuestbook("ID")))%>
  var url = '[URL unfurl="true"]http://mydomain.com/xx/view.asp?id='[/URL] + escape(A);

if (csupdatedby == 'customer service') {
     self.location="mailto:cs@mydomain.com?subject=An New Entry Has Been Made To xx Form  "+A+" by "+M+" &body= Here is the link to the updated project  "+url;}
else if (csupdatedby == 'production') {