Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

adding a 4826 GTS to a 4548

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlfonsoSF

Vendor
Mar 3, 2009
ES
Hi,

I am new in Avaya switching.

Ihave a 4548 avaya switch installed and I need to add more ports .

Avaya recommend a 4826 GTS for stacking.

What is the process for making the new as "base" and the tandem of both get the same IP address the old had?

I suppouse once they works as one I'll be able to config via web. Is it true?

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks in advanced

The best way is to;
factory default both switches
Connect them via stacking cables and set the base switch on the 4826
Power them up one at a time, with the base being first
Then configure

If you want to do it without defaulting your existing switch config (not recommended);
connect the stack cables and power on the new switch
once it is up and stacked flip the base switch to off on the 4548, then flip the base switch to on, on the 4826
It should now be the base and as a stack will be manageable from the existing ip address, if it is a vlan interface. If the ip was set as a switch address you will have to delete it and add it again as a stack address

is there any way to reset to default with no console cable?

Once everything started, can i configure IP addres for stacking via web?

I have no cable rs232-RJ45 and laptop have no rs232. Silly big trouble.

Thanks for your help !

You can connect through telnet or SSH and factory default the switch.

>> boot default

After auto reboot unplug power cable, connect stacking cables and enable the base switch on the upper device.