Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

AD housekeeping question on disabled/stale users 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

wlfpackr

IS-IT--Management
May 3, 2003
US
I'm relatively new to my current company and have been asked to clean up a lot of the manual processes they have here. The first task is with stale accounts in Active Directory. Currently they run a script to disable anything considered a stale account. They then run another script that also strips the account of all of it's AD group memberships and dumps it into a Disabled Items OU.

My question is what is the purpose of stripping the group memberships before disabling? The last company I was at we only only stripped the memberships before we deleted the account, not prior to disabling the account. So IMHO removing the groups on a disable is excess and makes it a pain to recover should the account need to reinstated (and they have a ton of subsidiaries that only log in a couple times a year for training and HR items). No one here can tell me why this is done.....am I wrong in my thinking?

=================
There are 10 kinds of people in this world, those that understand binary and those that do not.

The thinking is generally that if the account is somehow reenabled and compromised, it's impact is limited.

It also makes managing those groups a little cleaner if the ACLs aren't littered with disabled accounts.

Pat Richard MVP
Plan for performance, and capacity takes care of itself. Plan for capacity, and suffer poor performance.

Personally I don't see the point of removing the group membership before deleting the account. When you remove the account the relationship to the groups is removed as well.

Denny
MVP