Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ActiveX Script to copy file 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

itchyII

MIS
Apr 10, 2001
Hello all, I am new to dts and I am trying to copy a file from one location on a server to another location on another server. I was told that I could do this using an Activex scripting task. I also want to append the date to the filename of the destination file. The problem with what I have, is that it doesn't work unless the destination file already exists. I want to create a new file for the destination (a copy of the source file), and then place it in a nother location with a different filename. Here is what I have so far.
Code:
Function Main()
    Dim fso, sourceFile, destFile

Set fso = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
    sourceFile = "\\servername\foldername\filename.xls"
    destFile = "\\servername2\foldername2\filename2.xls"
    fso.CopyFile sourceFile,destFile,true

Set fso = Nothing

Main = DTSTaskExecResult_Success
End Function

Help please!

ItchyII

Looks like it should work.

Are you sure that you, or the user the DTS is executing as, has adequate permissions to create a file at the destination?

Hi cbhnp, yes, the permissions are OK. It seems to work if I remove the filename of the destination file and just leave the foldername. It copies the file with the same name as the original file. Then I have to rename the file seperately.

Thanks anyways!

ItchyII

Itchy,

You have more options than using only an ActiveX Script Task.

You can use the Execute SQL Task to execute the xp_cmdshell extended stored procedure.

1. Set up a DTS Global Variable to hold the xp_cmdshell command line. You could name it, SqlCommand, for example.