Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ActiveReports

Status
Not open for further replies.

smasaitis

Programmer
Jul 31, 2000
US
I have been using Crystal Reports for the past 3 years. Crystal is a great product when developing your reports. It's awesome. You can do almost anything with Crystal.
However, when you try to get these reports incorporated into your application, trouble always seems to arise.

Using Visual Basic to call Crystal Reports can be a hassle because the user may not have the appropriate DLLs on their PC. Then, you have to search for the missing DLLs, blah, blah, blah. If anyone has used Crystal and VB, I am sure they have had this problem.

Nowadays, more and more people are developing applications to be used over the web. If you want to have your Crystal accessed from a web application, you are going to have to make a major decision now that Crystal Reports 8.5 is on the scene. Crystal Reports 8 used a Web Component Server (WCS) to display your Crystal Reports on the web. This technique was great because all you had to do was put the path of the report and any parameters needed right in the URL. There was no limit to who could view the Crystal Reports over the web.