Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Active Directory Roles and Permissions 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

krshaikh

Programmer
Nov 18, 2001
US
Hi,

I am new to active directory and need some help. I have been assigned a task to authenticate active directory users. Once the user has been authenticated and if he is the admin he should be able to create new custom roles like Store Keeper / Accountants within the active directory. Also I need to add Custom permissions to those roles like Departments/Categories etc. Once this is done the Active Directory users will be assigned to custom roles and the persmissions they have will help them to access certain reports on the server using Reporting Services. I have been able to come up with custom roles creation but creating custom permissions is still stuck. Does anyone has an article, code sample on this. Thanks in advance.

Regards,

- krshaikh -

Well, I think there's a confusion of concerns here. Your app really shouldn't create or assign Active Directory roles for security reasons: all of that should be handled through Windows.

After you create and assign roles in Windows, you enter into the realm of SQL Server security. This, of course, is better handled directly through SQL Server role management (your app shouldn't touch it).

Only after you configure security for Windows then SQL Server should you worry about what your application is doing. Specifially, what you'd want to do then configure the app to use Windows integrated security and just pass the credentials through to SQL Server (using SSPI).

That way, all of the authentication will happen automatically through Windows or SQL Server.