Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Acrobat X Pro - extracting pages with delete ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 21, 1999
US
I've been using Acrobat 8 Pro for several years, and my work involves taking individual PDF's that are an aggregate of records, and separarting the records and saving to individual PDF's. In 8 pro, and in 6 pro before that, it has been very convenient to Delete a header page, and in extracting each range of pages, to delete while extracting.
When I try to do this in Acrobat X Pro, if I check the option to delete while extracting, or even try to delete a page, I get an error message that "One or More pages are in use and cannot be deleted". I looked through the configuration options, couldn't find an option to change this behavior. Any advice would be welcome!

Fred Wagner

Additonal info - with Acrobat Pro versions 6 and 8, I was using Windows XP. My adventure with Acrobat X is in Win 7, with VDI, if that could be affecting the way things are working.

Fred Wagner

The problem has disappeared - not sure exactly why, but I'm glad. I tried to use the Help feature, got errors that it couldn't see the internet. Our IE setup is pretty tightly configured, so I downloaded and installed FireFox, and was able to access the Help and Forums online, and when I went to duplicate the problem to quote the error message for Adobe, the problem was gone!

Fred Wagner