Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ACE/TAO beginner problem 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

enokta

Programmer
Nov 1, 2008
TR
Hello,

I'm new to ACE+TAO(v5.6.6) and trying to run the simple examples. My client and server are on the same machine, my home x86 XP. Whenever I try with client I get the following message,

<xxxx|xxxx> EXCEPTION, Exception caught:
system exception, ID 'IDL:eek:mg.org/CORBA/TRANSIENT:1.0'
OMG minor code <2> described as 'no usable profile in IOR.' , completed = NO

Server and client projects are both in the same directory. So I don't need to copy the IOR file to the client directory.

C:\Ace_wrappers\bin>server
(it creates the IOR file but cannot back to C:\Ace_wrappers\bin> again. So I have to interrupt it with CTRL+C combination. But I am sure It generates the IOR file again)
Then I call
C:\Ace_wrappers\bin>client
and get the 'no usable profile in IOR' problem.

Thanks,
Eren

Is the naming service running?

I have no idea. But I built it which is in the
"C:\ACE_wrappers\TAO\orbsvcs\Naming_Service" directory.
How can I start it?

Ok. I got the solution. The server should not be terminated.
C:\Ace_wrappers\bin>start server
C:\Ace_wrappers\bin>client
It worked like this.
Thanks xwb.

More than one way to skin a cat. I normally start it as two cmd prompts the run server on one and client on the other.

If you get that working, try the server and client with -endpoint and 127.0.0.1. The problem is getting the syntax right. Every CORBA engine seems to have a completely different command line syntax.