Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Accessing variables

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbeetz1

Programmer
Nov 28, 2000
US
I'm new at PHP. What I'm trying to accomplish is creating a form that has many radio buttons, drop down lists and text fields and submitting the data to a MYSQL database without using a submit button on the form.

Here is one of the objects on the page:
<p align="left">Draft Type:&nbsp; <input type="radio"CHECKED value=A onclick="update_db('draft_type',this.value)"
name=draft_type >&nbsp;Annual&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
<input type=radio value=W onclick="update_db('draft_type',this.value)" name=draft_type >&nbsp;Weekly</p>

I created a function on the page that does nothing but updates the database passing in the value as shown below.

function update_db(field,test12)
{
document.getElementById("answer").value=test12;

<?
$league_id = 101;

$sql_usr_details = "INSERT INTO league_options(league_id,season_start,season_end)
values('$league_id','2009-10-7','2009-12-20')";

mysql_query($sql_usr_details);

?>
if (field=='draft_type')
{
<?

$sql_update = "update league_options set draft_type = '$draft_type' where league_id = '$league_id'";
mysql_query($sql_update)
?>
}
}

The function does execute but I cannot figure out how to get the value being passed to "test12" into the SQL update command and the $draft_type variable.

Thanks in advance
Jerry

Hi Jerry,