Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Accessing files from remote server

Status
Not open for further replies.

womp

Technical User
Apr 6, 2001
US
I am totally new to the whole Java programming bit so point me in the correct direction if my question does not fit this forum. I wish to create a java applet (I think) on our primary server which I want to access through a browser on my desktop system several miles away and look at the contents of files such as /etc/passwd. What are the correct words I use for researching this? remote java applet server?

Assume the name of the server you want to modify its /etc/passwd is called Server A.
Why do you want to use Java to modifiy the password of password of Server A? Do SSH login provide enough function and security to Server A?

If you want to use Java to modify the password file of Server A, you have to think more on security issue. And there is a chance that your password file may be corrupted When there is error in running Java Programming or there is network error. I highly recommend that you should change the password for root user.

The following is just my advice:
Java Applet<-->Server A runs Tomcat server(any Application Server supports Java Servlet) and has Java Servlet B that will alter the password file /etc/passwd

Your Java Applet may be stored on the same context with that Java Servet B.

An applet is something that is executed at client side. What you need (I think) it's a servlet. But if you provide more details maybe we can offer more help.

At first sight, I agree prosper: what you need is just and ssh or sftp feature, not a Java application.

Cheers,
Dian

What I am looking to do is: