Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Access XP Error: Visual SourceSafe not Installed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sorrells

Programmer
Dec 28, 2000
US
Greetings,

I have installed XP Developer, Office and looks like VB6. I did not opt for Visual SourceSafe (VSS) as I am a single programmer.

Now every time I attempt to get into the code for an Access existing program, I get 2 error messages

"Visual SourceSafe client is not Installed"

"You must have Visual SourceSafe version 6.0 or later installed to run the VBA Source Code Add-In.".

It lets me in but I think it also is messing with the programming environent. Why would a DoCmd.Maximize in an OnOpen event of a form make the program not respond so that I have to 'End Task". And of course I cannot abide by these messages every time I go into code. I have no idea why I am being harassed like this.

The Microsoft documentation with the package, the Help and the Web stuff all do not include anything about VSS being required.

The only thing I can think is that this is the second PC I have installed this Developer on (a new one). I did not get hassled about loading on a second machine when I activated Developer but maybe this is their way. In the earlier install, somehow I avoided this problem. I generally keep good notes, which I reviewed so I think that the first time it just was not an issue.

First install was on a Win2k O/S and this time on a Win XP O/S.

Any advice, links to sites (preferably not Microsoft) that might help will be most appreciated.

Regards, Sorrells

I hope this message is not too late that it is not useful.