Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ACCESS XIRR 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Speiro1

MIS
Jun 7, 2012
US
Hi All

I am rather new to access. I am trying to calc the XIRR not the IRR. I have a table in which houses all the amounts and dates necessary for the calculation however I know this calculation does not exist in access. Other posts reference using the excel library to get access to the calculation since it exists in excel, but I don't know how ti do this. I saw some code that appears to be a macro but the amounts and dates were typed into it as values. I want to be able to run this macro against amounts and dates I pull from a table into a query. The code i have found is below. Note I am using access 2010. Thank you in advance for any help!

Public Sub TestXirr()

Dim objExcel As Excel.Application

Dim p(4) As Double
p(0) = -10000
p(1) = 2750
p(2) = 4250
p(3) = 3250
p(4) = 2750

Dim d(4) As Date
d(0) = #1/1/1998#
d(1) = #3/1/1998#
d(2) = #10/30/1998#
d(3) = #2/15/1999#
d(4) = #4/1/1999#

Set objExcel = New Excel.Application
objExcel.RegisterXLL objExcel.Application.LibraryPath & "\ANALYSIS\ANALYS32.XLL"
Debug.Print objExcel.Run("XIrr", p, d) ' Result: 0.374858599901199
objExcel.Quit
Set objExcel = Nothing

End Sub

Code:
Public Function XIRR_Wrapper(Payments() As Currency, Dates() As Date, Optional GuessRate As Double = 0.1)
   'Must add a reference to the Xcel library. Use Tools, References, Microsoft Excel XX.X Object Library
   XIRR_Wrapper = Excel.WorksheetFunction.XIRR(Payments, Dates, GuessRate)
End Function
No need to instantiate the xcel application