Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Access / SQL Server locking procedure

Status
Not open for further replies.

juddymar58

Programmer
Nov 15, 2011
AU
Hi, I'm currently investigating moving an access backend to SQL Server. I'm new to sql server so please bear with me.
I have my head around how I'm going to do things but would just like peoples opinions on the procedure I'm looking at creating to manage the locking and if it will work.
Firstly how I want to manage the locking:
A user will have a form open which they can view a record. There will be an edit button, when the edit button is clicked I will call the procedure to check if the current record is locked, if it isn't locked it will be locked by the current user.
If it is locked by another user a check will performed to see how long ago it was locked, it it was locked more than 10 minutes ago then the user will be able to unlock it and lock it to themselves.
If it is locked by another user less than 10 minutes ago the user will receive a message stating it is "locked by user xxxx until date time" please try at this time.

If I'm the user and lock a record for more than 10 minutes and someone else edits it after 10 minutes. When I click save it will perform a check to see if the lockedby date and time has changed and display a message to the user that it has changed you will need to refresh the screen and re-enter your changes (won't be a common occurance).

To do this I'm going to do is create a dynamic stored procedure which accepts the following variables:
TABLENAME
IDFIELDNAME
IDFIELDVALUE
USERNAME
DATETIME