Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Access/Lotus Notes, SendObject isn't available

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kuru5

Technical User
Jul 28, 2008
CA
Sorry, I am new to Access. I have a database done in Access 97 and have opened it with Access 2007. It seems as if there were no errors from the conversion.

The problem:
There was a function on the form to set up an email on lotus notes with an attachment. After the conversion, when you hit the button, an error comes up saying "the command or action "SendObject" isn't available now". It works fine on 97 and the SendObject command still exists in 2007.

Does anyone know why this would be?

Also, we are using Lotus Notes and it is the default email program.

Thanks in advance.

Hello Leslie,

That's the code behind the button. Thanks for your help.

Private Sub Mail_Report_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Mail_Report_Click

Dim stDocName As String
Dim WorkorderID As String

Forms!OrderEntry!WorkorderID.SetFocus
WorkorderID = Forms!OrderEntry!WorkorderID.Text

stDocName = "WorkOrder"
DoCmd.SendObject acReport, stDocName, acFormatRTF, , , , "Purchasing work order tracking ID:" + WorkorderID, "New work order was already entered to the system. The New Work order ID number is : " + WorkorderID + ". This ID is used for tracking your order. Thank you."

Exit_Mail_Report_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_Mail_Report_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Mail_Report_Click

End Sub

did you take out the email addresses for security reasons or is this the exact code?

we are using Notes version 6.5

that is the exact code behind the button. I don't know if it was written or if it was generated by a wizard.