Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Access-List configs 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

RadioX

IS-IT--Management
May 15, 2001
US
I am trying to write an access list to block on ip from the outside. here is how I have it written But I am doing something wrong.

access-list 125 deny tcp any xxx.xx.xx.68 0.0.0.0
access-list 126 permit tcp any any

What I want to do is just block access to the one address. How would I go about doing this.

I am applying it to the fastethernet interface that this is on like so

ip access-group 125 in
ip access-group 126 in

Thanks for the help. I am new to writing these so I am sure I will get it down some how or another.

What interface will you block? What is the model number you will be using.

int e0
ip address 10.10.10.10 255.255.255.0
ip access-group 125 in

int e1
ip address 10.20.20.20 255.255.255.0
ip access-group 126 in

access-list 125 deny tcp any XXX.XXX.XXX.68. 0.0.0.0
access-list 126 permit tcp any any
access-list 125 remark end of the list notice
access-list 125 permit ip any any
access-list 126 remark end of the list notice
access-list 126 permit ip any any

This is just a sample for information use only. You need to provide more specifics for your policy needs?
Route once; switch many

You are using a extended access list if you need to block a specific tcp are udp ports then this is what you want but you havent used it in your above config. If you dont need this use a Standard list. If just want no access to the network from 1 address then use this format

access-list 1 deny xxxx.xxxx.xxxx.68 0.0.0.0
access-list 1 permit 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255
(implicit deny any)