Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Access 2010 Runtime Ribbon - Complete idiots guide needed! 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ICCIIT

Technical User
Jul 21, 2003
GB
OK... I have read so many articles now that its confused the hell out of me...

ALL I want to do is allow my users (Runtime versions only) to be able to have 3 standard options "filter by selection" "clear filter" "sort ascending" on a form. Of course in Access full version these are available on the ribbon and by right click

It seems that for some reason it requires a lot of faffing around outside of Access using XML (which I have no experience in) and then creating Add-ins (again no experience).

Is there a simple bit of VBA that I can put within the form to allow these basic options??

Very frustrating indeed...

Is there a simple bit of VBA that I can put within the form to allow these basic options??
Not that I'm aware of.

You have to edit the table that stores the ribbon XML. (USysRibbons)

Have a look here :
Once you show the hidden / system objects, if the table doesn't exist you need to create it.

Then I use this XML for the ribbon...

Code:
<mso:customUI xmlns:mso="[URL unfurl="true"]http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2009/07/customui">[/URL]
 <mso:ribbon startFromScratch="false">
 <mso:tabs>

<mso:tab id="mso_c1.3B5D1FAF" label="Home">
   <mso:group idQ="mso:GroupClipboard"/>
  <mso:group idQ="mso:GroupSortAndFilter"/>
   <mso:group idQ="mso:GroupRecords"/>
   <mso:group idQ="mso:GroupFindAccess"/>
   <mso:group idQ="mso:GroupWindowAccess"/>
  </mso:tab>

<mso:tab id="mso_c2.3B5D035F" label="Export Options">
  <mso:group id="Export"  label="Export Data" >