Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Absolutely basic text problem 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

austim

Technical User
Jul 17, 2001
AU
HI, all.

I am a raw beginner with PaintShop. I have a little experience with Photoshop.

I am trying to create a small bitmap picture with some text in it and nothing else. (I would have done this in Photoshop, but that does not offer the Bold font that I want to use).

I have successfully opened a new file, and created a floating window with some text in it on the background layer. This started as blinking dotted outlines, which I have filled with black.

As I read the help file, I should now be able to promote this selection to a layer in order to make it permanent. But the 'promote to layer' option in the 'selections' menu is greyed out, and nothing that I have tried seems to make the text permanent.

I have tried adding a new raster layer, but that option is also greyed out.

Will some kind soul please put me out of my agony, and point out (in terms suited for a simpleton [mad]) just what I am missing here?

1. Choose File > New
2. Set the size you want
3. Choose a transparent background.
4. Make sure the image type is set to 16 mil color depth. That should be the default.

Ok now you have an image with a *transparent layer. You can add your text. When you add your text you have different wasy to add the text. You can place the text as floating, selection or as a vector text. When you place text as floating or as a selection, the marquee (the little marching ants) will be active around your text.