Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Absolute Beginner: Am I using TCP/IP? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kendo

Programmer
Jun 23, 2000
GB
Hi,

I really am an absolute beginner, I know very little about Networking.

Last night I put together a new machine and put WindowsME on it (only OS I had available!). My other machine runs Windows98SE. They both have 10/100 NICs and I'm using a crossover cable to network them.

After a few minutes I got the two talking to each other (sharing drives), but I can't really say that I knew what I was doing...it just...sort of...happened. Basically I went into control panel, click Networks and pressed random buttons.

So what protocol am I using across this network? I REALLY don't have a clue.

What else could you tell me about the networking of these machines that would help me on my way to understanding what the h*ll I'm doing? Some good on-line tutorials or something similar would be a great help.

Thanks in advance guys/gals.

Go in the network properites and see what protcols you have install Netbeui, IPX/SPX, TCP/IP. I doubt you are using a tcpip because you need to specify a 32 bit address that's how tcpip hosts communicate. You are most likely using netbeui which is use for small non-routable LAN (Local Area Network. Sorry can't think of links about networking. post back if you have questions. Hope this helps

Hi,