Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

A subscript must be between 1 and the size of the array 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cpjeffm

IS-IT--Management
Mar 9, 2015
US
Getting this if I run my report on a system that I know has no data 3 years ago. I need it to return a 0 if there's no data. Can't, for the life of me, figure this out and I'm no Crystal expert. I'm trying to fix this report that was created by someone else. Here's the formula that's erroring...

whileprintingrecords;
shared stringvar partssoldYr3;
local stringvar temp1 := Left(partssoldYr3, len(partssoldYr3)-1);
tonumber(split(temp1,"^")[groupnumber]);

The highlighted portion when it errors is...

split(temp1,"^")[groupnumber]);

You could try the following:

whileprintingrecords;
local stringvar temp1 := Left(partssoldYr3, len(partssoldYr3)-1);
if Count(split(temp1,"^"))>= groupnumber then tonumber(split(temp1,"^")[groupnumber]) else 0;

You should get a zero instead of an error. You can then format the result to suppress if zero (on the Number Tab) if you don't want the zeros to appear.

Gordon BOCP
Crystalize

I thought this was good but found an issue. The problem is if I have no sales in January, or February but then have sales in March, the March sales are showing up in January. Any ideas?

This report shows me 4 years worth of data and then data for each month. I'm attaching a screenshot. Notice the $500.00 Part Sales in January 2016. That 1 sale for $500.00 was done in March. Not sure why it's showing up in January.

screenshot1_kh5bql.jpg

The formula that you posted has a shared variable called partssoldYr3.