Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

A Question On New Hire IT Process 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

sakulati

IS-IT--Management
Oct 7, 2015
DE
Hi All,

I am new to this forum, so please forgive me if this post maybe, is in the wrong section. I have a question about new hire IT process in the US. I worked as an IT before but not in the US. I have moved last 2012 and have been a house dad for ~3 years. Now, I am ready to get back to work. I recently passed A+ and have been checking some "hiring" in my area. However, I am a little low in confidence, a little scared in applying because I have been jobless as I said. While we IT's have stored knowledge and are very adaptable, we do not know everything. So when I read the job descriptions, it makes me apprehensive to apply. I understand that some recruiters / employers do not necessary hire someone who knows 100% all bullets they require but in case I will be hired, WILL I BE TOLD TO DO THOSE TASKS EVEN IF I DO NOT KNOW OR HAVE LITTLE OR NO EXPERIENCE AT ALL OR WILL I BE TRAINED?

Thank you for your advice...

HI,

Yes, you have learned many things over the past years, much of which you have also forgotten.

But having obtained a degree, demonstrates an ability to LEARN. I am 73 years old and still relish learning. I have been learning all my life; some in a classroom but much by digging things out myself with trial and error.

Be a lifelong learner and seek truth, as there are many who are always learning but never arrive at a knowledge of the truth.

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses]Just traded in my OLD subtlety...
for a NUance![tongue][/sub]