Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

A Question about Job Descriptions 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

mmt4331

Programmer
Dec 18, 2000
US

I saw a job posting in my local paper (surprise...this thing wasn't on Monster or Dice) and they are looking for someone that has experience w/ the following: Mainframe Operations, PC Support, HelpDesk, database mang., data analysis, and installation.

OK, here is the deal. I have twelve years of Mainframe Operations experience, I have done some database programming w/ VB 6, I have created tables and maintened the database somewhat (ACCESS), I am certified in Crystal Reports and have done a lot of report writing for my company, I have built a small department web site (for my mainframe staff using HTML and a little bit of Javascript), I have done some helpdesk (answering phones and helping people the best I can that have mainframe or PC problems), I have written SQL code querying against DB2 and ACCESS databases, and I think that is about it.
I will be sending my resume out to this company tomorrow but I want to get a few things cleared up. First of all, they are asking for PC support. Can anyone define PC support? I know it can be a range of things. Also, what exactly is Data Analysis? Yes, analyzing data w/ a tool, but can anyone be more specific of what it is?

Also, looking at my experience, do you think that I am qualified for this position (not to mention the fact that I am a supervisor in a mainframe operations department)?

Thank you.

Mark