Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

A problem with search statement 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

guirone

Programmer
Apr 1, 2011
CH
Hi All,

I'm new in Cobol and I'm facing a problem while trying to resolve a search over an internal table.I hope you can help me.

I've created an internal table

01 WT-ROLEPLAYERS.
05 WT-ROLEPLAYER OCCURS 10 TIMES
ASCENDING KEY IS WT-CDFILIAC
INDEXED BY WT-INDEX.
10 WT-CODE PIC X(10) VALUE SPACES.
10 WT-FIN-SER-ROL PIC X(23) VALUE SPACES.
10 WT-PHY-OBJ-REL PIC X(11) VALUE SPACES.

where some codes are stored in WT-CODEs.Of these codes I need to know which are the distinct ones and,only for the distinct ones, I need to retrieve other datas from database and inform corresponding WT-FIN-SER-ROL and WT-PHY-OBJ-REL of the table.

I tried to use a binary search but it looks like that it only allows to perform a statement over equal condition.

MOVE WT-CDCODE(WC-1) TO WS-CODE-AUX.
SEARCH ALL WT-ROLEPLAYER
AT END
CONTINUE

WHEN WT-CDCODE (WT-INDEX) IS <> WS-CODE-AUX
COMPUTE WS-INDEX2 = (WT-INDEX) - 1
IF WT-CDCODE(WS-INDEX2) NOT EQUAL SPACES
PERFORM 4314-RETRIEVE-DATA
THRU 4314-RETRIEVE-DATA-EXIT
END-IF
MOVE WT-CDCODE(WT-INDEX) TO
WS-CODE-AUX
END-SEARCH.

Do you know why this code is not correct?There is a way to find out the distincts WT-CODEs?

A search statement is for finding distinct and specific values. In other words, does a specific value exist in the table. SEARCH ALL has specific requirements as well, which you are not fulfilling, since you have to have the data sorted on the key and search on the key to make it work.