Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

A monumental task...

Status
Not open for further replies.

zakne

Programmer
Feb 24, 2012
I work as a Manufacturing Engineer in a small production facility that fulfills a number of roles within our company; production of one-off tooling, maintenance and automation support.

Since starting at this company roughly one year ago, I've been leaned on heavily to help by putting standards in place and "oiling the machine". The owner often asks me what I feel is wrong with the company and why project schedules are constantly not being met. Having worked for a few well structured businesses with key elements in place, I've acted more as a consultant looking at everything from the outside-in, rather than an employee, but now things have changed.

As of this past week, I was tasked with taking on a 'leadership' position in implementing structural changes and helping "get things in line".

The threat being, "if things can't be fixed, we will have to shut down the manufacturing portion of the company, and outsource for tooling".

The problems here are enormous in scope, so I will just list a number of the largest:

1. Key employees who haven't seen a wage increase since starting (many are 5+ years now)

2. No review system (those who have been fired, simply pushed the wrong button)

3. No disciplinary system in place (verbal, written, strike 3, you're out, etc)

4. No "managers". We all work as equals within the team, though some like myself are tasked with most of the administrative duties behind closed doors

5. No task management, and things that would fall under #4

6. Lots of capital expenditure; mostly on new machinery