Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

A general question... 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

gonzilla

Programmer
Apr 10, 2001
US
Hello,

I am still pretty new to programming, but I have always had a great fascination for computers and how and what makes them work - it's in my blood. I am wondering just what it is I want to do when I graduate (CIS Degree from DeVry) in a year and a half.

I have always had an interest in game programming. What does it take to make it in that field? Does anybody know of any good books that might give me insight as to whether or not I would like to pursue it? I'm not even sure where to start or if it takes special skills and knowledge of certain languages. I have heard it is hard and not all that lucritive, but I have this nagging feeling it's what I want to do.

Any other feedback would be helpful. Thank you in advance.

-Tyler

;-) Note: I posted this in C++ becuase it seemed like the best place to start. Sorry if I have placed this in the wrong area.

Requirements:
Lot of hard work and patience as you rewrite a lot at the beginning.

A good knowledge of graphics and gaming in general is required. Also be ready to be criticised as to something is not good and don't try to please everyone.

Books : go to - somme good books are shown there.

Regarding lucrative : Nothings is unless you are good at it.

Hi,

You absolutely need to learn C and C++ (caution, despite similarities, these are different languages). To my opinion knowing C is not a prerequisite to learn C++ (I learnt C++ first). But if you don't have a good knowledge of the general mechanisms of programming, you may find C easier to start with.