Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

a few simple questions from a novice

Status
Not open for further replies.

andycape

Programmer
Aug 22, 2003
ZA
I'm very new to photoshop as you will tell from my questions, I was wondering if someone could let me know the steps to achieving the following 3 things :

1. Placing one picture ontop of another

2. Cutting a picture out (ie : cutting part of a pic away from its background).

3. Changing the colour of a certain part of a picture.

thanx, I appreciate it.

andy

Did you do a SEARCH in the forum Andy? They are very common questions that have been answered here many times. I'm sure you will have no problem finding search results for those things!

> I'm very new to photoshop as you will tell from my
> questions, I was wondering if someone could let me know
> the steps to achieving the following 3 things :

Photoshop can be overwhelming when you are just beginning. Hope this helps you get started.

> 1. Placing one picture ontop of another

Learn to use layers. You can copy another image on top of the first by copying it to the clipboard and pasting it to the other image. How it interacts with the other layers or background depends on the selected blend mode and opacity.

> 2. Cutting a picture out (ie : cutting part of a pic
> away from its background).