Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

A cornucopia of LM2 gripes

Status
Not open for further replies.

RickWolff

Technical User
Apr 28, 2003
US
I'm an animator, just trying to put a narrative movie together. No interactivity, no fancy features (or so I think). I have the following bones to pick with Adobe, and wonder if you do too. Are you ready?

1. Since it's an Adobe product, LiveMotion favors importation of vector drawings in Illustrator over Freehand. Just make sure they're in Illustrator 8, not 9 or 10. But you must take my word for it; you'd never know it by a warning dialog, because there isn't any.  In fact, the AI 9 or 10 drawing behaves just fine: you can change and keyframe any attribute you want. But when you go to export it to SWF, the progress bar gets to your first non-Illustrator 8 drawing and crashes not only the export, but LiveMotion! Hope you saved first. The hint LiveMotion gives you that your drawing is unacceptible is that the Replace choice in the Object menu is grayed out -- which means you can't swap out the bad drawing (with all those wonderful keyframes you worked so hard on) for a good drawing; no, you have to start from scratch. Strangely, the instruction manual is no help here.