Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

2850 EOD76 BP Drive 4 error

Status
Not open for further replies.

bgalvan

Technical User
Jul 12, 2009
US
Help, I'm fairly new to raid and have a problem with it. Running a dual processor 2850 with GJ871 raid board (Perc 4 edi). raid key,and the backplane daughter board. 2 300gb drives as Raid 1 and 4 300gb drives raid 5. Drive 4 seen by controllers as failed. User unlatched and reseated drive 4 with amber light still seen as failed. I replaced the drive with a 300gb replacement, rebuild did not even start, rebooted server, same results. I suspected DOA drive, replaced with another 300gb drive, same results, still seen as failed drive. Replaced the raid board, channel A and channel B cables, raid key, and backplane board and another 300gb drive, still seen as a failed drive, my thought is that the backplane daughter board could possibly be bad. Any thought out there? This is a critical server, takes a week to get permission to take it down and then only for one hour. I have run diags, every thing runs fine till it hits that drive then the basic HDD test blow off.

Thanks for your help

Ernest

First I would update all firmwares on the server, ESM, Bios, raid firmware, make sure all firmware revisions on drives are the same . Clean the backplane slots with contact cleaner, check the particular slot for damage. Since you have an extra slot, if (and only if)the slot is on the same raid channel as the offending slot, move the drive to the other available slot. If you end up replacing the daughter card without success, suspect one of the original drives has an electronic component failure causing the issue.

Chernobyl disaster..a must see pictorial