Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

10 base-t vs 100 base-t

Status
Not open for further replies.

mycarona

IS-IT--Management
Mar 12, 2002
US
I am an IT professional who has inherited a beautifully designed network by a tech for whom I have alot of respect. We have a series of robust dual processor servers (WinNT 4.0)and about 50+ active users. The network is over a campus-like setting with fiber and cat 5 cabling. The disagreement is this: He has put 10 mps data converters and 10 base-t hubs on all the outlying offices. He has one small 100 mps switch for which I can pick and chose who I want to plug into it (as long as they are in the same building). He claims that giving everyone 100 mps bandwidth would "bog down" the server(s). I think everyone on the network should be given the same speed, especially with database applications that have been implemented since I've come on board. Does anyone have an expert opinion on this?

Thanks
MyCaRona

I have a BIASed opinion on this. No outlying Building on my property (45 buildings) with more than 4 users are still on 10 hubs, I am regreting even them.

VLANs, needs new equipment
QOS, needs new equipment
VoIP, needs new equipment
full duplex, almost never implemented in 10baseT
switching, rarely implemented in 10baseT

it is not JUST that 10baseT is slower, without the above technologies even 100 baseT is slower than need be. I tried to remain child-like, all I acheived was childish.

I agree. Having 10Base-T for servers is not good. We've wrestled with 10/100-Base and half/full duplex for awhile. For optimum performance on the network, 100Base Full duplex is definitely the way to go!