Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

1 Raid 5 array, or multiple Raid 1 / Raid 5 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepper08

Technical User
Aug 13, 2006
US
I am brand new to server configuration, and especially brand new to Raid setup and configuration. I have done some reading on my own, but wanted to ask for some recommendations.

I am going to be setting up a previously-owned Win2000 SMB server that one of our customers just purchased. The server came in this week and I had a chance to physically review the hardware.

The server is a Compaq Proliant ML350 with a SmartArray 641 controller, and a 5 disk array (5 18GB drives).

This server will be the first and only server for the company (for at least a year) and will act as a network file server (along with being the DC, DNS, and WINS server). There are 10 users who will be accessing the server.

The previous company that owned the server wiped it clean, and setup the drives into a single Raid 5 configuration with a single 50GB "C" drive (4 drives in the Raid 5 config with the 5th drive acting as a spare).

My questions are:

1) Would it be better to redo the array configuration and set up a 5-10GB Raid 1 configuration (across 2 of the disks) for the "C" drive, which would then only contain operating system files....and then configure the remaining freespace into additional Raid 1 and/or Raid 5 configurations for data files (creating a "D" drive, and others as needed)??

2) With the server configured as it currently is (single Raid 5 config), why am I missing 20gb of space? (4 drives x 18gb each = 72, but bios and operating system only reports ~50gb). Is the missing space just part of the overhead with Raid 5?

TIA,

Dave