Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using access 2003 mdb online 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrMode

Technical User
Aug 28, 2003
GB
Stupid question, i have a fairly simple sales database used to give the sales team their prospects and record their activity. The sales team are remote and need to use a central resource, it seems that putting it online on my website is the most straight forward solution.

How do I set up and share my ms access 2003 database via my website?

My website host is 1and1.co.uk

I have limited knowledge of coding an mdb and nothing at all about web sites or any coding languages - there is lots of chatter about php etc that is making my eyes glaze...

Is there a utility that helps me convert my mdb and put it on my website?

Any and all help most appreciated.

Thanks, I will try that.

For future reference, what should I invest time in learning / understanding if I want to manage this kind of data on a website?

I use classic ASP for most of my web development. This is old technology and has been replaced by dot net apps. If I was just starting, I would go with dot net.

Duane
Hook'D on Access
MS Access MVP

Sounds like I've kicked .Net a just a little more than Duane but not much... I know just enough to poin a couple things.

There are several presentation architectures to consider in .Net. The ones I know of are ASP.Net, Silverlight and MVC. MVC is the latest and if I'm not mistaken takes advantage of the latest HTML 5 standard (which means definitely no IE 8 or earlier support). Silverlight requires the user to install something extra but should work in earlier browsers and I know very little about ASP.Net.