Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Power Supply replacement 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

StevenB

IS-IT--Management
Sep 25, 2000
US
Howdy all,

A friend I've been helping out just had his PC "die," by which I mean it just physically won't power up any more. Press the switch, nothing. It seems pretty likely that his power supply is kaput, but I'm far from an expert when it comes to hardware.

His PC is from one of those "reassembled parts" online places, and is not under warranty any more.

So, 2 questions:

1. If the power won't go on at all, is it safe to assume the power supply is shot, or are there other possible causes?

2. The power supply is a "L&C Technologies Switching Power Supply LC-300ATX." How easy is it to find/purchase/install a new power supply?

Thanks,

Steve

Does your friend her nosie from the power supply? OR from the hard drive spinning up? If no, I'd definetly say the ps is dead. Time to replace it.

If your friend lives near a computer store, they should have a power supply. HAve him remove the ps and take it with him/her to the store and have them match it up with at least the same power output (if not larger). Then reinstall the new one. Not really a big undertaking.

Are there other considerations other than the specs of the supply? For example, could certain supplies be the wrong size, or what have you? Or are they pretty much standard, so just get one with the right power specs?

There are several physical sizes and several ratings.
You may find that it is cheaper in price but more costly in time to replace the case and power supply at the same time rather than trying to replace just the power supply.