Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help setting up Home Cisco Network

Status
Not open for further replies.

binaryops

ISP
May 2, 2004
US
I am wanting to incorporate my cisco routers into my existing Verizon FIOS (FTTP) network. The reason is I want to get proficient using my Cisco's as I'm studying for my CCNA certification. I have 3 cisco 2500 routers as follows:

2501 - IOS 11.0
Ports: E0/S0/S1

2504 - IOS 12.1
Ports: Token Ring/S0/S1/BRI

2514 - IOS 12.2
Ports: E0/E1/S0/S1

Here is my current setup:

Fiber jack --> Dlink DI-604 router --> Linksys wireless SRX router(WRT54GX). My Dlink does dynamic PPPoE authentication with one WinXP box hard wired to Dlink router. My Linksys SRX router is only an Access Point with dhcp turned off serving my wireless Dell Axim X50 pda. Everything works great with this set up, but as mentioned above, I really want to incorporate my Cisco boxes and I'm not sure exactly how to do it. I bought the Cisco 2514 because it has 2 ethernet ports, thus
thinking that will allow me connectivity to my Dlink and incorporate
all
my Cisco routers into my network. I've got V.35 cables connecting each
Cisco together on the Serial interfaces. I'm new to Cisco IOS and
really need some help accomplishing my goals.
Thank you for your time and look forward to hearing a response soon!
Binary

Well the one thing missing from your CCNA lab is a decent IOS switch. At a minimum, I'd look for a Catalyst 2900XL or, if your budget stretches for it, a Catalyst 2950.

With this Catalyst, you could then plug it in between your DLink (non-ISP side) and Linksys device.

Armed with AUI-RJ45 transceivers, you could then attach all your Cisco routers directly to the Catalyst.