Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

can't color a compound path

Status
Not open for further replies.

sheila6

Technical User
May 23, 2013
US
picture-26-62.html
picture-26-62.png
[/url]]

Hello I'm new to Illustrator.
What I know comes from photoshop but I can see there are a lot of differences.

I have this letter "Y" looking image. I made it with the pen tool and some circles.
With the pen tool I made a thick stroke vertical path straight line, then I made thick stroke path curves for each side, then I added filled cicles to the tips of the Y
( but I didn't do it on the bottom as you can see the bottom ends straight)

Then I grouped it thinking this would be a way to change the color of the whole thing at once.
I can't figure out how to change the color. I tried various things, rasterizing, flatten.
And I can't ungroup it now. Now there are no complet cicles path at the tips of the Y , the whole path is a simple outline naw and it's attached to that outer box which I can't get rid of.
The live paint bucket won't allow color, a pop up calls it a clipping mask.
Swatch fills in "stroke" in the top tool bar or the color palette can't color it.
I tried clicking the magic wand on the inside but that doesn't work.

I want to change it to different colors easily for different versions.
Maybe I made too many changes to it and I can't color it now. Maybe I need to start over.
I what I'm describing a "compound path" ? or is it a "clipping path"
I got a pop up saying it couldn't live fill a clipping path

Basically what I want to do is make a few separate thick strokes paths, custome precise curves made with the pen.